Superior or Better?

Lately, there’s this one thing at the back of my mind, bugging me a lot. A habit of mine which I can’t stop thinking about. Is it harming me? Is it good for me? I don’t know.

I have this habit of being quite competitive. If something happens with me that I do not like, I make it a point to emerge superior when the same situation arises. By superior (‘better’ might be more suitable) I just mean above the other person or group of people, to show them that if they didn’t let me do something I wanted to, I did it anyway. And this happens to me less in competitions and more in everyday life.

As much as this sounds like a good thing, a strong thing to do, I reckon otherwise because sometimes it gets to a point where I start getting competitive for the slightest of things. And that sucks because somehow I don’t want to be that competitive and there’s nothing I can do to stop it.

It doesn’t​ happen on a daily basis but happens quite often and I don’t want to be like that with my friends or family because I want the best for them too.

It’s not something I’ve voiced a lot and it truly came into my notice recently. So as much as it may seem like one of my best qualities (if that’s not too much), it is at the same time one of my worst habits.

Comment down below if you have a habit (except procrastination) that you really want to get rid of or that you don’t like but it’s a habit and you can’t stop. Thanks for listening to my rant my people! You guys are beautiful and amazing.πŸ’™ I’ll see you shortly in my next post.

Me xx

11 thoughts on “Superior or Better?

  1. PROCRASTINATION. πŸ˜› I know you said not to say that, but honestly, that is my WORST habit right now! I used to not procrastinate this much — and then I started blogging! 😦 But I still love it and would never change it.

    I call myself competitive, but if I don’t lose, I’m not sore about it. I mean, obviously I want to win or do good, but if I don’t, that’s okay with me. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. theiridescentworldofindy

    I do this too! For example, I’ll be walking with a friend, then suddenly be like, “race you to the end of the block” and then they just roll their eyes at me as I run ahead. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. theiridescentworldofindy

        It annoys my friends sometimes but I think they mostly just find it funny how much satisfaction I get from those small victories

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

